The Sandman: Overture #1

***POSSIBLE SPOILERS, READ WITH CAUTION***

Ladies and gentlemen, the Lord of Dreams has returned!

After having finished reading all of the Sandman trades, both the originals and the remastered ones, I don’t think I could have asked for a more fantastic ending. Being pretty young, I’m not an original fan of The Sandman, but that hasn’t stopped me from enjoying what definitely deserves to be called a masterpiece. It ended when it had to end and it told the story it wanted to tell. It saw a great rotating panel of artists matched only by series creator Neil Gaiman’s magnificent writing. All in all, it deserves all the praise it gets. Continue reading

Lazarus #1

***POSSIBLE SPOILERS, READ WITH CAUTION*** 

The chances of me wanting to live in this run-down version of the U.S.: -0.0000010950493%

Besides writing incredible stories in either his mainstream DC/Marvel work or his own creator-owned work, I think that, like many others, I’ll always admire Greg Rucka for his treatment of women in comics. The guy has always written strong female characters without making them annoying, and strong in the sense of them kicking major ass without making them overpowered for the sake of, well, saying “GIRLS RULE, BOYS DROOL.” Much like any male character would, he writes them as having ambitions/goals, fears, tastes, a personality, etc. So pretty much like any real human being would be like. Or in the case of series protagonist Forever Carlyle, a not so human being. Hmm, yeah, I think that’s a fair assessment. Continue reading